Documents can be uploaded from your file system or you can take photos and video directly from AroFlo on your mobile device, laptop or desktop computer using a webcam.
The documents and photos functionality is only available if you have Document Storage enabled for your AroFlo subscription. To find out more or to activate this feature, please call AroFlo Customer Support or log a request via the Help menu > Email Support.
There is no limit to the number of files you upload, but AroFlo does limit file size to 250mb.
Click Add Documents & Photos button to add a new document or photo.
Upload: allows you to choose one or more files from your computer.
Drop Files Here: allows you to drag one or more files from your computer. Click Done once your file shows as 'Complete'.
Each upload will show a preview and a progress bar so you can easily see how long the upload will take. You can also resize images by changing the Image Upload Size located in the bottom right of the Upload New Document window.
Take Photo: allows you to take a photo or video directly from a webcam attached to your desktop computer or built into your laptop*. Click Allow if asked.
* The Take Photo functionality is browser dependent. If the browser you are using does not support this feature or there is no webcam found, then the button will simply behave like the Upload button.
You can even drag and drop files from your desktop without clicking Add Documents & Photos.
Document Directory (available on Tasks, Assets and Expenses) allows you to add existing files located in your document directory. Accessed via the drop down menu on the Add Documents & Photos button, it may be useful for adding existing files or internal company documentation such as marketing material.
Task Documents (available on Tasks only) allows you to add existing files from a previous task.
Accessed via the drop down menu on the Add Documents & Photos button.
To view a document such as Word, Excel or PDF, click the thumbnail or name of the document.
When images are uploaded to the Documents & Photos tab, the top section will also display a thumbnail preview of all images.
The thumbnail preview bar is hidden if there are no images. If you've uploaded an image to an asset, inventory item, or client card and you don't see the thumbnail, click (columns) and select Thumbnail.
Thumbnail previews are not available for documents such as Word, Excel and PDFs. Supported file types which will show a thumbnail are .pdf, .jpg, .jpeg, .gif, .png, .bmp.
Search, filter and sort
The search tool located at the top of the document list allows you to search and filter by document name, comment, filter, uploaded by and category.
Simply enter a keyword into one of these fields and the documents list will automatically display the documents that match your criteria.
The list can also be sorted by clicking the column header.
Comments can be added for each file using the Comment field. These comments can also be referenced if photos are added to layouts including quotes and invoices.
Set document visibility
Once the file has been uploaded you can set the access visibility from the Filter options.
Access visibility restricts who can view the document. The available options are:
Internal Only - visible only to internal staff.
Internal Admin Only - visible only to internal staff with Admin user permission.
Internal Admin and Manager Only - visible only to internal staff with Admin or Manager user permission.
Show Client - visible to your clients that have a client login.
Show Contractor - visible to your subcontractors that have a contractor login.
Show All - visible to all users who can access your AroFlo site.
- users in the Management permission group will represent an Administrator
- users in the Supervisor permission group will represent a Manager.
If using a custom permission group, you can define which performer to represent via Settings > General > Permission Groups > Documents and Photos > Filters.
If you want to include a specific document or photo on a print layout or email, you will need to set the filter to 'Show Client' or 'Show All'.
A document or photo set as 'default' will appear on layouts and emails if chosen (regardless of filter setting).
Sharing a document or photo
Documents and photos can be shared with external contacts using shareable links. Shareable links can be included in an email or a document. You can enable or disable a link at any time. Alternatively, you can set a sharing duration which will automatically disable the link when the duration has ended.
Create a shareable link
In Documents and Photos, search for for the document or photo you want to share.
Click (Get Shareable Link)
Select a duration from the drop-down list beside Set the sharing duration.
Click Update Duration. The screen will update to show the expiry of your shareable link.
Copy the Link URL and paste it into an email.
Click X to close the Shareable Link window.
Refresh the page with the documents and photos table. The expiry date for the link will also appear under the Public Expiry column. Expiry only applies to users not logged into AroFlo.
Disable a shareable link
In Documents and Photos, search for the document or photo which will no longer be shared.
Click (Get Shareable Link).
Click Make Private. The screen will update to show 'You must be signed into AroFlo to access this document'.
Click X to close the Shareable Link window.
Set a default photo
Only applicable to assets, inventory and users
Once photos have been uploaded, a default can be set for assets, inventory and users. The default photo is displayed as a thumbnail when it appears in a list.
Where multiple files exist, set a Default.
An example of the default photo in an inventory list:
Items with more than one document or photo will also show a counter on the preview.
An example of the default photo in an asset list:
An example of the default photo in a user list:
An example of the default photo in AroFlo Field:
If only one document or photo exists for the part/user/asset, it will automatically be set as default.
If you don't want a default, you can deselect the default button.
Delete a Document or Photo
You can delete a file from Documents & Photos areas using the X button.
On this page:
Your Permission Group controls access to this feature.