Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Notes are used to record information for reference and communication purposes. AroFlo's notes editor allows you to record notes in plain text or richly formatted HTML. Each note has its own visibility filter which controls who can view the note (internal, client, contractor etc).

Task Notes Feature

Clients, Suppliers, Locations and Periodics feature an additional notes section called 'Task Notes'. Notes recorded in this section will automatically appear as task notes on jobs that are created against the client, supplier, location or periodic.

Add notes

To add a note:

  1. Select one of the following options:

    • Add Note (Text) - opens a plain text area:
    • Add Note (HTML) - opens a rich text editor:


  2. Enter the details of your note and format as needed (if using HTML).
  3. Optional: add or remove permission groups or users who need to view the note (see information below).

  4. Optional: set the visibility by selecting an option from the Note Filter drop down (see information below).
  5. Set Sticky Note if you want this note to always appear at the top of the list.
  6. Click Save Note.


Spell Check using your Browser

Most Internet browsers have a built-in spell checker. To correct a spelling mistake in the HTML editor: PC users CTRL+Right Click on the word. Mac users CMD+Right Click on the word. The following pages may provide more detail: Firefox Spell Checker | Google Chrome | Microsoft Internet Explorer and Edge | Apple Safari

Setting note visibility

Access visibility restricts who can view the note. The available options are:

Note Restrictions

Note Restrictions control who can view a note within your organisation. This could be specific users or permission groups.

  • If the padlock is unlocked, there are no restrictions and everyone in your organisation can view the note.
  • If the padlock is locked, restrictions have been set up and names of permission groups and/or users will be displayed. Only these users will be able to see the note you're about to create.

Create a restriction

Site Administrators can pre-set note restrictions for a particular area. See Default Note Restrictions.

To restrict a note:

  • Click the (padlock icon)
    1. Click Add Permission Group to select permission groups
    2. Click Add User to select individuals

Only these users or groups will be able to view the note.

Remove restrictions
  • To remove a permission group or user, click the x beside the permission group/user's name
  • To remove the restrictions entirely, click on the  (padlock icon).


Note Filter

Note Filters control if a note can be seen outside of your organisation.

  • Internal Only - visible only to internal staff who can access the note.
  • Internal Admin Only (Legacy) - visible only to internal staff with Admin user permission who can access the note.
  • Internal Admin and Manager Only (Legacy) - visible only to internal staff with Admin or Manager user permission who can access the note.
  • Show Client - visible to your clients that have a client login.
  • Show Contractor - visible to your subcontractors that have a contractor login.
  • Show All - visible to all users who can access the note.

The Legacy options will only work if you are not using permission groups.

If using Permission Groups, the user types shown above also need to be represented by a Permission Group. When using pre-built permission groups:

- users in the Management permission group will represent an Administrator

- users in the Supervisor permission group will represent a Manager.

If using a custom permission group, you can define which performer to represent via Settings > General > Permission Groups > Notes > Filters.

On this page:

Related articles