Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

New Permission Groups Now Live

From the 3rd of September 2018 AroFlo's legacy user access settings will no longer be available for any new users added to your AroFlo site.

You will have the option to select from one of our new pre-built permission groups or you can create your own custom permission group.

AroFlo's new permission groups settings include:

  • Management
  • Supervisor
  • Worker

What are permission groups?

Permission groups allow you to control exactly what your users can see and do in AroFlo. You can assign our pre-built permission groups to users, or create your own role-based permission groups.

When you create a permission group, you can turn on or off a user's ability to view, create, edit or delete information at a more granular level.

Permissions may be applied to:

  • Segments of AroFlo (e.g tasks, quotes, invoices)
  • Types of segments (e.g sales invoices, part invoices, progress invoices)
  • Fields and functions that appear within a segment (e.g notes, status, print/email functions)
  • Filters on segment list views (e.g. only show current tasks assigned or scheduled to user).


What are 'Legacy Permissions'?

Over the course of 2018, our user access types (Admin, Manager, Base) and options (Account Manager, Compliance Manager, etc) will be phased out. We've added a new section called 'Legacy Permissions' to the access types list to promote awareness of the impending removal of these settings.


Can I continue using the current (legacy) user access settings?

Existing users can continue to use legacy access types and transition to a permission group at any time. New users can only use permission groups.

All of our future product enhancements will be controlled by permission groups. We encourage you to assign your users to permission groups to ensure that they continue to access new features when they're released.

Permission groups give you far more control over your AroFlo site, allowing you to:

  • Turn on or off the features your business needs
  • Pick and choose what your staff can see and do in AroFlo
  • Lock down reports to specific users or groups of users.


How can I replicate a user's current access settings using permission groups?

Our new Permission Groups area will include three pre-built permission groups that closely replicate the behaviour of the following access settings:

Current Access SettingsNew Permission Group
Admin + Compliance and AccountManagement
Manager + N/ASupervisor
Base + N/AWorker


You may find that our pre-built permission groups are not exactly what you want or were used to. Using a pre-built permission group as a template, you can easily create a new permission group that better matches a user's current access settings by adjusting the permissions within each segment.

Current Access SettingsNew Permission Group Settings
Admin + Account Manager

Create a copy of Management and disable the following segments:

  • Compliance Forms
Admin + Compliance Manager

Create a copy of Management and disable the following segments:

  • Purchase Orders
  • Invoices
  • Credit Notes
  • Payments
Admin + Compliance and Account
(No reporting)

Create a copy of Management and disable the following segments:

  • Reports
Admin + N/A

Create a copy of Management and disable the following segments:

  • Purchase Orders

  • Invoices

  • Credit Notes

  • Payments

  • Compliance Forms
Manager + Account Manager

Create a copy of Supervisor and enable the following segments:

  • Invoices
  • Credit Notes (Invoice)
  • Payments (Invoice)
Base + Site Invoicing

Create a copy of Worker and enable the following segments:

  • Invoices (except List)
  • Payments (except List)


Will Feature Access settings still apply to users?

We are in the process of moving the Feature Access settings to Permission Groups. Please note these settings are temporarily unavailable in permission groups and will need to be configured separately to allow:

  • pricing visibility on quotes and tasks
  • access to Site Administration settings
  • GPS tracking.


Can a user be added to multiple permission groups?

A user may be added to any number of permission groups. This may be useful in cases where staff responsibilities overlap and therefore require access to additional areas of AroFlo to perform their duties.

Permissions are additive. If a permission is enabled in one group but disabled in another group, the enabled permission will override the disabled permission.


Featured video

On this page: